Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP) Is Reached

On October 4, 2015, Ministers of the Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP) countries – Australia, Brunei Darussalam, Canada, Chile, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Peru, Singapore, United States, and Vietnam – announced conclusion of their TPP negotiations.

TPP is a large and ambitious free trade initiative, based on a comprehensive, economic and strategic agreement. It sets high standards in many areas, including on intellectual property. Inter alia, TPP povides protection and enforcement of copyrights and related rights, reflecting or building upon the WIPO Internet Treaties, and provides for a copyright period of 70 years.

More information is, inter alia, available from the respective governments' websites, such as: