Technical Standards Overview

IFRRO standards projects fall into the following three categories:

1. Identifiers
Typically an identifier standard will include:

  • a definition of the structure and syntax to enable the unique identification of the object of the standard (referent);
  • the methodology for establishing a Management Agency and registration agencies for issuing the standard identifiers.

For the IFRRO community it is vital that there should be unambiguous identification of the work involved and of the parties involved (authors, visual artists, publishers, RROs, etc.) so that access can be obtained to relevant rights management data. Interoperability between such different identifiers is a key issue. Current projects, involving IFRRO, in this group of standards are the ISTC, ISNI, the IFRRO Party Identifier and DOI.

2. Message standards
Message standards enable the automated exchange of information between different parties (e.g. RROs) for agreed applications. These will involve the definition of mandatory and voluntary fields for inclusion in the message and will need to be closely mapped to the business practices, message flows and data structure of the users. The ONIX messages for exchanging information on Distribution and Repertoire are the IFRRO projects in this category.

3. Other standards
IFRRO is also engaged in two other standards projects:

  • ACAP, which enables web sites to communicate rights information to search engines;
  • PLUS, which is a suite of standards designed to facilitate the communication and management of image rights.