New European Commission announced

Jean-Claude Juncker, the President-elect of the European Commission, has presented his team today and announced the distribution of portfolios within the new college of Commissioners. The structure of the Commission has been published here.

Copyright is assigned to the Directorate General for Communications Networks, Content and Technology (DG CONNECT) with Günther Oettinger as Commissioner for Digital Economy and Society. 
A project team led by Andrus Ansip, Vice-President of the European Commission for the Digital Single Market, will also work on copyright issues, as indicated in the memo published by the European Commission: “Copyright rules, in the future under the responsibility of the Commissioner for Digital Economy and Society (Günther Oettinger), should also be modernised in the light of the digital revolution and new consumer behaviour. They should help build a successful European media and content industry. Cultural diversity will remain a Commission priority in this context.” More information is available here.
IFRRO will now assess how it can best cooperate with the new Commission.