European Parliament approves the Juncker Commission

The European Parliament voted today in favour of the new Juncker Commission by 423 votes to 209 (and 67 abstentions). The majority was made up of the European People’s Party (EPP), the Socialists & Democrats (S&D) and the Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe (ALDE) groups. Members from the European Conservatives & Reformists group (ECR) abstained, while those from the Greens, European United Left (GUE) and Europe of Freedom and Direct Democracy (EFDD) groups rejected the new Commission.

In line with recommendations made by the European Parliament’s Committees following the confirmation hearings that took place over the last weeks, small changes to the portfolios were announced:

  • The Slovenian Commissioner, Ms Violeta Bulc, will be responsible for the Transport portfolio;
  • Mr Maroš Šefčovič (Slovakia), who had originally been given responsibility for the Transport portfolio, will become Vice-President in charge of Energy Union;
  • Mr Frans Timmermans (Netherlands), First Vice-President, will have an additional responsibility for sustainable development;
  • Mr Dimitris Avramopoulos (Greece), Commissioner in charge of Migration and Home Affairs, will also be responsible for Citizenship.

The Juncker Commission will take office on 1 November 2014. More information on the new structure of the Commission can be found here.